• Skip to main content
  • Skip to secondary menu
  • Skip to primary sidebar
  • Skip to footer

Erin Wright Writing

Writing-Related Software Tutorials

  • Microsoft Word
  • Adobe Acrobat
  • PowerPoint
  • Services
  • Contact

How to Create Hyperlinks to the Web in Microsoft Word (Complete Guide)

By Erin Wright

This tutorial explains how to create hyperlinks to the web in Microsoft Word on PC. We will cover this topic in Word for Mac in a separate tutorial.

First, we will use Word’s new copy and paste method. Then, we will create hyperlinks manually using the Insert tab, keyboard shortcuts, and right-click method. Next, we will create hyperlinked web addresses automatically. We will also edit, remove, and customize hyperlinks with formatting. Lastly, we will open hyperlinks.

Watch this tutorial in real-time on my YouTube channel:

https://youtu.be/hbjnI4hVC6I

Table of Contents

  • How to Copy and Paste Hyperlinks
  • How to Create Hyperlinks Manually
    • Pro Tip: Other Ways to Open the Insert Hyperlink Dialog Box
  • How to Create Hyperlinked Web Addresses Automatically
    • Pro Tip: How to Turn On Automatic Hyperlinks
  • How to Edit Hyperlinks
  • How to Remove Hyperlinks
  • How to Add ScreenTips to Hyperlinks
    • Pro Tip: How to Turn On ScreenTips
  • How to Format Hyperlinks
  • How to Open Hyperlinks
    • Pro Tip: How to Click Hyperlinks Without Pressing Ctrl

How to Copy and Paste Hyperlinks

Important Note: This method only applies to Word for Microsoft 365 and Word for the web. It doesn’t apply to Word 2024, Word 2021, Word 2019, Word 2016, or earlier versions.

  1. Copy the web address (URL) from a web browser.
  2. Select the text in Word to which you want to turn into a hyperlink.
  3. Select the Home tab.
  4. Select the Paste button in the Clipboard group.

Alternatively, press the keyboard shortcut Ctrl + V to paste the hyperlink to the selected text.

How to Create Hyperlinks Manually

  1. Select the text you want to turn into a hyperlink.
  2. Select the Insert tab in the ribbon.
  3. Select Link in the Links group.
  4. Enter or paste the web address (URL) into the Address text box in the Insert Hyperlink dialog box.
  5. Select the OK button.

Pro Tip: Other Ways to Open the Insert Hyperlink Dialog Box

  1. Select the text you want to turn into a hyperlink
  2. Press the keyboard shortcut Ctrl + K to open the Insert Hyperlink dialog box.

Alternatively, right-click the selected text and then select Link in the shortcut menu to open the Insert Hyperlink dialog box.

How to Create Hyperlinked Web Addresses Automatically

  1. Place your cursor where you want to insert the link.
  2. Type a full web address (i.e., https://erinwrightwriting.com).
  3. Press Space or Enter to convert the address into a hyperlink.

Pro Tip: How to Turn On Automatic Hyperlinks

If your web address doesn’t convert into a hyperlink automatically, change your AutoCorrect setting:

  1. Select the File tab.
  2. Select Options in the Backstage view.
  3. Select Proofing in the Word Options dialog box.
  4. Select the AutoCorrect Options button.
  5. Select the AutoFormat As You Type tab in the AutoCorrect dialog box.
  6. Check the Internet and network paths with hyperlinks option.
  7. Select OK in the AutoCorrect dialog box.
  8. Select the OK button in the Word Options dialog box.

How to Edit Hyperlinks

  1. Right-click the hyperlink.
  2. Select Edit Hyperlink in the shortcut menu.
  3. Change the web address (URL) in the Address text box in the Edit Hyperlink dialog box.
  4. Select the OK button.

How to Remove Hyperlinks

  1. Right-click the hyperlink.
  2. Select Remove Hyperlink in the shortcut menu.

The hyperlink should be removed, but the text should remain unaltered.

How to Add ScreenTips to Hyperlinks

A screen tip, also called a tooltip, is a short piece of explanatory text that appears when you hover your cursor over a hyperlink.

  1. Place your cursor in the linked text.
  2. Select the Insert tab.
  3. Select Link in the Links group.
  4. Select the ScreenTip button in the Edit Hyperlink dialog box.
  5. Enter the message you want to appear on hover in the Set Hyperlink ScreenTip dialog box.
  6. Select the OK button.
  7. Select the OK button in the Edit Hyperlink dialog box.

Pro Tip: How to Turn On ScreenTips

If ScreenTips do not appear when you hover your cursor over hyperlinks, ensure they are turned on your settings.

  1. Select the File tab.
  2. Select Options in the Backstage view.
  3. Select Display in the Word Options dialog box.
  4. Check the Show document tooltips on hover option.
  5. Select the OK button.

How to Format Hyperlinks

Important Note: Modifying the Hyperlink style updates all hyperlinks in the document at once for consistent formatting.

  1. Place your cursor in one of the hyperlinks in your document.
  2. Select the Home tab in the ribbon.
  3. Select the Styles pane dialog box launcher in the Styles group.
  4. Right-click Hyperlink (or Followed Hyperlink) in the Styles pane and then select Modify from the shortcut menu.
  5. Choose your font, color, and underline settings in the Modify Style dialog box.
  6. Select the OK button.
  7. Select the X to close the Styles pane.

How to Open Hyperlinks

Right-click the hyperlink and select Open Hyperlink from the shortcut menu.

Alternatively, press the Ctrl key while clicking the link.

The link should then open in your default web browser.

Pro Tip: How to Click Hyperlinks Without Pressing Ctrl

You can turn off the Ctrl key requirement in your settings.

  1. Select the File tab.
  2. Select Options in the Backstage view.
  3. Select Advanced in the Word Options dialog box.
  4. Uncheck the Use CTRL + Click to follow hyperlink option.
  5. Select the OK button.

Related Resources

How to Link to Part of Another Microsoft Word Document

How to Duplicate Links in Microsoft Word

Filed Under: Microsoft Word Tagged With: Microsoft 365, Word 2016, Word 2019, Word 2021, Word 2024, Word 365

Home » How to Create Hyperlinks to the Web in Microsoft Word (Complete Guide)

Primary Sidebar

Meet the Author

Technical Writer and Editor Erin Wright

Hello! My name is Erin. I am a copy editor and Microsoft Word formatter who shares writing-related software tutorials on this website and on YouTube.

Recent Tutorials

How to Print Multiple PDF Pages on One Sheet in Adobe Acrobat and Acrobat Reader (PC & Mac)

How to Share a Link to a Location in Microsoft Word (PC & Mac)

Explore More

  • Microsoft Word
  • Adobe Acrobat
  • PowerPoint
  • Services
  • Contact

Let’s Connect on Social

Facebook
Instagram
X
Pinterest
YouTube

Footer

  • Microsoft Word Tutorials
  • Adobe Acrobat Tutorials
  • Writing Tips
  • Editing Tips
  • Writing-Related Resources
  • About Me
  • Services
  • Contact
Email: erinwrightwriting@gmail.com
Phone: 708-669-9503

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

© 2012–2025, Erin Wright. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this website’s owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Erin Wright with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.