• Skip to main content
  • Skip to secondary menu
  • Skip to primary sidebar
  • Skip to footer

Erin Wright Writing

Writing-Related Software Tutorials

  • Microsoft Word
  • Adobe Acrobat
  • PowerPoint
  • Services
  • Contact

How to Remove Hidden Text in Microsoft Word

By Erin Wright

We recently looked at how to hide text in Microsoft Word. Today, we are going to look at two ways to remove hidden text in Microsoft Word. The first method uses Word’s Find and Replace tool. The second method uses the Document Inspector.

Watch all the steps shown here in real time!

Explore more than 300 writing-related software tutorials on my YouTube channel.

Table of Contents:

  • How to Remove Hidden Text Using Find and Replace
  • How to Remove Hidden Text Using the Document Inspector

The images below are from Word for Microsoft 365. These steps also apply to Word 2021, Word 2019, and Word 2016. These steps don’t apply to Word for Mac, Word for the web, or Word for mobile.

How to Remove Hidden Text Using Find and Replace

  1. Select the Home tab.
  2. Select the Show/Hide button to reveal the hidden text.
Pro Tip: The formatting mark for hidden text is a faint dotted underline.
  1. Select Replace in the Editing group.
Show Hide button and Replace button in the Home tab in Word 365
Figure 1. Home tab, Show/Hide button, and Replace button
  1. Ensure your cursor is in the Find what text box.
  2. Select the More button.
More button in the Find and Replace dialog box in Word 365
Figure 2. More button
  1. Select the Format button.
  2. Select Font from the Format menu.
Font option in the Find and Replace dialog box in Word 365
Figure 3. Font option
  1. Select Hidden in the Find Font dialog box. (Ensure that it has a checkmark instead of a dash.)
  2. Select the OK button.
Hidden option and OK button in the Find Font dialog box in Word 365
Figure 4. Hidden option and OK button

The word “Hidden” should now appear under the Find what text box.

Be careful not to place your cursor in the Replace with text box.

  1. Select the Replace All button.
Replace All button in the Find and Replace dialog box in Word 365
Figure 5. Replace All button
  1. Select the OK button in the dialog box reporting the number of replacements.
OK button in the Number of Replacements dialog box in Word 365
Figure 6. OK button
  1. Select the Close button.
Close button in the Find and Replace dialog box in Word 365
Figure 7. Close button

The hidden text should now be removed from the document.

How to Remove Hidden Text Using the Document Inspector

Important Note: The Document Inspector method is not reversible. Therefore, you should only use this method if the first method fails to remove hidden text from your headers, footers, footnotes, or endnotes.
  1. Save the file to save any recent changes.
  2. Select the File tab.
Save button and File tab in Word 365
Figure 8. Save button and File tab
  1. Select Info in the Backstage view.
  2. Select the Check for Issues button.
  3. Select Inspect Document from the drop-down menu.
Inspect Document option in Word 365
Figure 9. Inspect Document option
  1. Uncheck everything in the Document Inspector except Hidden Text.
Friendly Reminder: This process is not reversable, so doublecheck that only Hidden Text is checked.
  1. Select the Inspect button.
Inspect button in the Document Inspector in Word 365
Figure 10. Inspect button
  1. Select the Remove All button.
Remove All button in the Document Inspector in Word 365
Figure 11. Remove All button
  1. Select the Close button.
Close button in the Document Inspector in Word 365
Figure 12. Close button

The hidden text should now be removed from the whole document including headers, footers, footnotes, and endnotes.

Related Resources

How to Insert Headers and Footers in Microsoft Word

How to Insert Footnotes and Endnotes in Microsoft Word (PC & Mac)

Filed Under: Microsoft Word Tagged With: formatting, Microsoft 365, Word 2016, Word 2019, Word 2021, Word 365

Home » How to Remove Hidden Text in Microsoft Word

Primary Sidebar

Meet the Author

Technical Writer and Editor Erin Wright

Hello! My name is Erin. I am a copy editor and Microsoft Word formatter who shares writing-related software tutorials on this website and on YouTube.

Recent Tutorials

How to Print Multiple PDF Pages on One Sheet in Adobe Acrobat and Acrobat Reader (PC & Mac)

How to Share a Link to a Location in Microsoft Word (PC & Mac)

Explore More

  • Microsoft Word
  • Adobe Acrobat
  • PowerPoint
  • Services
  • Contact

Let’s Connect on Social

Facebook
Instagram
X
Pinterest
YouTube

Footer

  • Microsoft Word Tutorials
  • Adobe Acrobat Tutorials
  • Writing Tips
  • Editing Tips
  • Writing-Related Resources
  • About Me
  • Services
  • Contact
Email: erinwrightwriting@gmail.com
Phone: 708-669-9503

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

© 2012–2025, Erin Wright. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this website’s owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Erin Wright with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.