This tutorial explains how to create reusable letterheads in Microsoft Word.
First, we will create the letterhead. Then, we will add text, a logo, and a horizontal line. Next, we will save the letterhead as a reusable template. Finally, we will create a new letter from the template.
Watch this tutorial in real-time on my YouTube channel:
Table of Contents
- How to Create a Letterhead
- How to Save the Letterhead as a Reusable Template
- How to Use the Letterhead Template
These steps apply to Word for Microsoft 365 and Word for Microsoft 365 for Mac. The process is similar in Word 2024, Word 2021, and Word 2019. These steps don’t apply to Word for the web or Word for mobile.
How to Create a Letterhead
- Open a new, blank document in Word.
- Double-click the empty space at the top of the page to open the header area.
Your cursor should now be inside the header area, and the Header & Footer tab should open in the ribbon.
- Select Different First Page in the Options group.
How to Add Text
Common letterhead information includes a business or personal name, address, phone number, email address, or website. You can type this text directly into the header area or use a text box for more precision.
You can also insert a table into the header area and then add text into the individual cells; however, we won’t be covering those steps in this tutorial.
Add Text Directly
- Type your information into the header area.
- Press the Enter key (PC) or Return key (Mac) to start each new line.
- Select the Home tab, select the text, and then use the options in the Font group to change the font, font size, and font color.
- Use the alignment buttons in the Paragraph group in the Home tab to center or right-align the text, as needed.
Use a Text Box (Recommended)
- Select the Insert tab.
- Select Text Box in the Text group.
- Select Draw Text Box from the drop-down menu.
- Click, hold, and drag your cursor to draw the text box in the header area.
- Type your text into the text box.
- Select the Home tab, select the text, and then use the options in the Font group to change the font, font size, and font color.
- (Optional) Click, hold, and drag the border of the text box to reposition the box as necessary.
- Select the text box and then select the Shape Format tab.
- Select Shape Fill in the Shape Styles group.
- Select No Fill from the drop-down menu.
- Select Shape Outline in the Shape Styles group.
- Select No Outline from the drop-down menu.
- Repeat steps 1 through 12 to add text boxes for additional text.
- Click outside the text box to deselect it before moving to the next section.
How to Add a Logo
- Ensure your cursor is in the header area and then select the Insert tab in the ribbon.
- Select Pictures in the Illustrations group.
- Choose This Device (PC) or Picture from File (Mac) from the drop-down menu.
- Locate and select your image file in the dialog box and then select the Insert button.
The Picture Format tab should open in the ribbon.
- Select the logo, select Wrap Text in the Arrange group, and then choose an option other than In Line with Text, such as Square or Tight, so you can drag the logo anywhere in the letterhead.
- (Optional) Resize the logo by dragging one of the corner handles on the border.
How to Add a Horizontal Line
Many sources recommend adding a horizontal line by using the Borders option in the Home tab. However, the line shape can offer better control of length and placement.
- Ensure your cursor is in the header area and then select the Insert tab in the ribbon.
- Select Shapes in the Illustrations group.
- Choose the straight line from the drop-down menu.
- Click, hold, and drag your cursor to draw the line in the header area. You may have to move the end handles to achieve the desired length and position.
The Shape Format tab should open in the ribbon.
- (Optional) Select the Shape Outline menu arrow for additional options such as color, weight (thickness), and dashes.
- Select Close Header and Footer in the Header & Footer tab when you are finished.
Double-click the footer area of the first page and then repeat the text, logo, and line sections above to add a footer to your letterhead.
How to Save the Letterhead as a Reusable Template
Now that you have created your letterhead, you can save it as a reusable template.
PC Users
- Select the File tab in the ribbon.
- Select Save As in the Backstage view.
- Select Browse.
- Choose Word Template (*.dotx) from the Save as type menu in the Save As dialog box.
Word will change the save location to the Custom Office Templates folder.
- Type a name in the File name box.
- Select the Save button.
Mac Users
- Select the File menu.
- Select Save as Template.
- Type a descriptive name in the Save As box.
- Ensure that Word Template (.dotx) is selected in the File Format menu.
- Select the Save button.
Word for Mac will automatically save the template to your personal templates folder.
Your letterhead should now be saved as a template.
How to Use the Letterhead Template
You can now use your letterhead template in new documents.
PC Users
- Select the File tab in the ribbon.
- Select New in the Backstage view.
- Select Personal above the template thumbnails.
- Select your letterhead template.
- Type your letter in the body of the new document. Your letterhead will stay in place in the header and footer as you type.
- Save your letter as you normally would. Your letterhead template will remain unchanged.
Mac Users
- Select the File menu.
- Select New from Template.
- Select Personal in the template gallery.
- Select your letterhead template and then select the Create button.
- Type your letter in the body of the new document.
- Save your letter as you normally would. Your letterhead template will remain unchanged.
Related Resources
How to Print Multiple Envelopes in Microsoft Word from an Excel File
How to Create Address Labels in Microsoft Word from Gmail Contacts (PC & Mac)